Assam Polity – Political Personalities

Council of Ministers of Assam

Sri Sarbananda Sonowal Chief Minister
Home, Political, Personnel, GAD, SAD, Administrative Reform & Training, Election, I&PR, Border Area Development, Revenue and DM, Social Welfare, Judicial Legislative Law, Welfare and Minorities Development, Hill Areas Development, Printing and Stationary, Power, Implementation of Assam Accord and any other department not allotted to the other Minister.
Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma Finance, Planning and Development, Health & Family Welfare, Education (Higher, Secondary & Elementary), Tourism, Handloom and Textile (only Khadi and Village Industry), GDD, Cooperation, Pension and Public Grievances.
Sri Atul Bora Agriculture, Horticulture and Food Processing, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, UDD and Town & Country Planning.
Smt Pramila Rani Brahma Environment and Forests, Soil Conservation, Welfare of Plain Tribes and Backward Class,Mines and Minerals
Sri Parimal Suklabaidya PWD (Roads and Buildings, NH), Fisheries and Excise
Sri Chandra Mohan Patowary Commerce and Industry , Transport , Parliamentary Affairs.
Sri Keshab Mahanta Water Resources Department,Science and Technology, Information Technology
Sri Rihon Daimari Public Health Engineering, Food and Civil Supply and Consumer.
Sri Ranjit Dutta IIrrigation, Handloom and Textile and Sericulture (excluding Khadi and Village Industry).

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

Sri Naba Kumar Doley Panchayat and Rural Development, Sports & Youth Welfare, Cultural Affairs (As independent charges) Social Welfare (MoS to assist CM)
Sri Pallab Lochan Das Labour and Employment, Tea Tribes Welfare (as independent charges), Revenue & DM (MoS to assist CM), Power.

Other Important Personalities

Governor Banwarilal Purohit
Legislature Assembly Speaker Ranjit Kumar Das
Legislature Assembly Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul
Leader of Opposition Debabrata Saikia
, Chief, Bodoland Territorial Council Sri Hagrama Mohilary