Five New Districts of Assam – (Assam Polity)

Go to Assam Polity Home Page

Five New Districts of Assam : Assam Polity

On August 15, 2015, Tarun Gogoi, the then Chief Minister of Assam, announced the formation of five new districts in the state, taking the total number from 27 to 32. The five new districts are the following: Biswanath (carved out of Sonitpur); Charaideo (carved out of Sivasagar); Hojai (carved out of Nagaon); South Salmara-Mankachar (carved out of Dhubri); West Karbi Anglong (carved out of Karbi Anglong).

On June 27, 2016 one more district was announced by Sarbananda Sonowal, taking the total number from 32 to 33 which is Majuli (carved out of the Northern parts of Jorhat). It is the first river island district of India.


Biswanath District                                                     
  • Headquarters – Biswanath Chariali
  • Area  – Total    1,100 km2 (400 sq mi)
  • Population (2011) –  240,000
  • Density – 220/km2 (570/sq mi)
  • Languages – (Official) Assamese

Biswanath is an administrative district in the state of Assam in India. It is one of newly created district in the year by 2015, declared by Assam Chief Minister on 15 August 2015.

The district is created amalgamating Gohpur and most part of Biswanath Sub division on earlier Sonitpur district.

The district is bounded by Arunachal Pradesh district on north, Golaghat, Brahmaputra on the south, Lakhimpur district on the east and Sonitpur district on the west.


Charaideo District                                                               
  • Headquarters –            Sonari
  • Languages – (Official) Assamese

Charaideo district is an administrative district in the state of Assam in India. It was formally declared a new district of the state on 15 August 2015 by the then Chief Minister of Assam Tarun Gogoi.

It curve out of carved out of Sivasagar district and Sonari became its headquarters. It comes under Upper Assam divisions.

The site of Charaideo which was the first capital of the Ahom kingdom established by the first Ahom king Chao Lung Siu-Ka-Pha in 1228. The tombs (Maidams) of Ahom kings and queens at Charaideo hillocks are comparable to the Pyramids of Egypt. The site has had some archaeological works but also has suffered from robbers. There have been calls for the site to be UNESCO World Heritage listed.


Majuli District                                                               
  • Area – 1,250 km2 (480 sq mi)
  • Population – 167,304 Approx (2011)
  • Pop. Density – 300 /km2 (800 /sq mi)
  • Ethnic groups  – Mishing, Deori, Sonowal Kacharis, Ahom, Sutiya, Kalita

On June 27, 2016 the district was announced by Sarbananda Sonowal, taking the total number of district in Assam to 33. Majuli carved out of the Northern parts of Jorhat.

The main industry is agriculture, with paddy being the chief crop. Majuli has a rich and diverse agricultural tradition, with as many as 100 varieties of rice grown, all without pesticides or artificial fertilisers.

Handloom is a major occupation among the distaff population of the villages. Although largely a non-commercial occupation, it keeps many of the inhabitants occupied. Weaving is exquisite and intricate with the use of a variety of colours and textures of cotton and silk, especially Muga silk.

Among the fascinating arrays of rice produced are the Komal Saul, a unique type that can be eaten after immersing the grains in warm water for 15 minutes and usually eaten as a breakfast cereal; the bao dhan, that grows under water and is harvested after ten months and the Bora saul, a sticky brown rice used to make the traditional cake known as pitha. Fishing, dairying, pottery, handloom and boat-making are other important economic activities.

Majuli is a reserved seat for the Scheduled tribes (ST). It is under jurisdiction of Mising Autonomous Council having three constituencies.

It is the first river island district of India and the biggest river island in the world.

It is the least populated district in Assam with a population of approx. 167,304


South Salmara-Mankachar District                                                               
  • Headquarter – Hatsingimari
  • Area – 568 square kilometres
  • Density – 980/km 2 (2,500/sq mi)

South Salmara-Mankachar District is an administrative district in the state of Assam in India. It was created by bifurcating Old Dhubri district in 2016.

It is last part of Assam west side borders with Bangladesh and south east side is connected with Meghalaya state.

South Salmara-Mankachar District is primarily dependent on agricultural and forest products. The main source of income is paddy (both winter and autumn) with surplus production. Jute and mustard seed occupy the major share of cash crops. Wheat, maize, pulses and sugar cane are also grown moderately. From forest, mainly timber and bamboo add to the income, though boulders and sand are also available. Fish, milk, meat, and eggs have small contribution to the economy.

There are few historical sites in the district. However, the famous ones are the tomb of Mir Jumla II and Kamakhya Temple at Mankachar.

 It is the smallest district in Assam with an area of 568 square km.


West Karbi Anglong District                                                               
  • Headquarters  – Hamren

The West Karbi Anglong district is a new district formed out of the existing Karbi Anglong District of Assam in 2016. The district is a part of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council, Diphu and it is administered according to the Sixth Scheduled of the Indian Constitution.

Karbis and Hill Tiwas form the majority of the population. Karbi language, Tiwa and Assamese is widely spoken in the district. English, Hindi and other tribal languages are spoken in the district. The district is inhabited by many indigenous Assamese communities, Karbi and Hill Tiwa people being the majority, along with Dimasa, Garo, Bodo and other indigenous Assamese communities.




Assam Polity - Assamexam